Gary’s Birthday Ride 2/15/10

Bike : Trek 5500
Distance: 53.05 miles
Time:3h30m32s
MPH: Av= 15.1, Max= 36.1
BPM: Av= 147, Max= 185
Climb: 4829ft

Another day another different bike. After riding my Bacchetta on Saturday and the Klein on Sunday I decided I needed light weight carbon for Gary’s birthday ride from Dublin to the top of Diablo.  My legs were still feeling a bit shot after the weekend but the weather was absolutely glorious. A good number of bodies turned up for the climb including some fast guests. At the bottom of Diablo one of my team mates set a blistering pace over the very rough section and I was gapped by about 50m  from the lead group of 3 riders.  I chased pretty hard which wasn’t an ideal thing to have to do so early on but I got back on.  The pace rose again just before the gate and I got gapped by two riders and lost my team mate. I chased back on again and held on until about 2 miles from the top where I dropped off the pace again this time by about 100m.

Fortunately they must of eased up as things flattened slightly as I got back on again to get second over the top. I know it wasnt a race but it was nice to crest Diablo with some very fine riders. I was absolutely roasting on the way up and the sweat was dripping off me. Who would have thought Diablo in February could be so hot ? Time for the climb was 1h05m which is a pretty good pace for February.

Categories: Cycling | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

