Time to Sell The Salsa

I really like my Salsa Chili Con Crosso as the frame is absolutely gorgeous and it is crafted from the finest Scandium.  I bought it to be my climbing bike for the tougher double centuries and outfitted it with a 34*28.  I also toyed with fitting 32 section slicks on it to race the rougher road races like Copperopolis. Although I used it for the Death Ride, it never really approached my titanium Lemond in terms of comfort or in high speed handling and as such I never did a double on it. I never raced it either. The number one reason I abandoned it as a double century bike was the brakes. No matter how much care I took in setting up the front Cantilevers they just were not reliable enough in the mountains. The slightest hint of damp could cause horrible fork judder.

I have placed my order today for the replacement for the Salsa (More news on this later). The parts from the Salsa will be moved onto my wifes Trek that is in dire need of an upgrade and the wheels and saddle will go on the new bike (Perhaps bars and stem too).

I will put the Salsa frame/Forks up for sale.

Categories: Cycling | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

