Beaten by The Clock TT: 3/20/10

I was hoping to beat my personal best and the trike record for the Canada road course today but fell well short of the mark. When I finished I was confused how my time was so bad. I did ride a little differently today, trying to ride a more constant pace rather than totally thrashing myself on the climbs then getting a little recovery on the down hills. Looking at my data when I got back home it is very apparent that I just didn’t try hard enough even though I felt like I did.  The only bit I really hit my groove was the last 1/2 mile where I was spurred on by my team mate Erik shouting for me.

Time= 28m15s
Personal Best on this course (Trike) = 27m48

I was hugely disappointed with my performance especially as this was the second Time Trial in a row where I have ridden very poorly. I really need to get my Mojo back. It was also disappointing that my wife couldn’t ride today due to a flu bug she has picked up.

There was another recumbent rider out there today (Phil Plath on the Bacchetta) who did a storming ride to knock me out of 3rd place overall on the records page for regular 2 wheeled recumbents. This didn’t help my morale much. His time of 23m46s was very impressive.

A comparison of my Speed Today vs my personal best on the trike. It can clearly be seen I went faster almost everywhere last time (especially on the way back)

Comparison of pulse showing I really didn’t put enough effort in on the way back:

Categories: Cycling | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Beaten by The Clock TT: 3/20/10

  1. Pingback: The Race Year In Review « Britcpower's Blog

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

