Dodging the Rain Again

Its funny how people always ask you if you ride a recumbent because you have a bad back. Normally I would respond that I choose to ride a recumbent for the fun and challenge. Today I actually rode my Corsa SS with a bad back and I didn’t feel any more comfortable  than a regular bike. The main problem is the pulled muscle is right across the area where you lay down on a carbon seat. I really have to pray I can get this sorted before next weeks rough double century or I will be in serious difficulties.

Fortunately I managed to dodge the rain showers and it was pretty warm (67f) but there was a howling wind that made progress hard. Despite my back I went pretty hard today as my theory is that  if you cant get the distance you have to at least get some sort of intensity to keep your fitness.

Course : Cross Road Circuit

Bike : Bacchetta Corsa SS
P.B. : 39m23s (6/16/2009) Trek TTX 9.5
P.B. (Recumbent): 0h41m04 (8/29/2010) Corsa SS
P.B. (Trike) : 0h45m56 (6/15/2010) Catrike 700
Distance: 14 miles
Time:43m03s
MPH: Av= 19.5, Max= 37.3
BPM: Av= 146, Max= 171
Climb: 582ft

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

