Darryl’s Christmas Eve Ride [Trek 5500]

I parked up in Danville then rode out to Bernal in the pitch black and patchy fog to meet my IC3 team mates for a ride out to Peet’s Coffee in Berkeley. It was pretty cool to begin with and I felt pretty rough until we got to the Redwood Road Climb where I started to breathe a bit better.  I was never really firing on all cylinders and was usually trailing in about third place up the bigger climbs. I was unable to match the pace of Ben and Stefano but I was climbing OK.

After a free coffee, holiday gingerbread and bathroom break in Berkeley I felt a lot better but was still unable to hang with Ben and Stefano on the Tunnel Road climb. This is an excellent climb that I must try again someday and I got a 4th overall on Strava for it. The rest of the way home was brisk with the odd sprint for signposts but we were slowed a little by a flat near Dublin. I felt pretty good at the finish and really enjoyed the ride. I am not sure why I didnt feel so good all day but I think the early morning had something to do with it.

Strava Ride report

Categories: Cycling | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

