Mount Diablo : Lemond Ti

I woke up this morning to miserable overcast conditions and very strong winds.  The ride out to the base of Diablo was proving to be an absolute slog.  I came across the HOP ride on Diablo and they were all stopped attending to a nasty crash.  One of the riders was heading back to Blackhawk to get his truck to rescue the injured rider so I worked with him and it made the headwind a lot more bearable.

When I got to Diablo itself it was shrouded in thick cloud but it made climbing nice and cool. I rode up at a Century pace and passed quite a few people on the way up. Near the top I caught up to a Webcor rider but he seemed to lift his pace when I caught him and dropped me on the final steep 200m.  My time up the mountain was 1h05m36s which was ok for not hammering but a long way from my p.b.  I didn’t feel particularly strong on the climb.

Fortunately I had a nice tailwind for the Journey home but unfortunately I  saw another crash on the descent of Diablo.

Strava Ride Report

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

