PCSD#9 : Trek TTX 9.5 (22m42s )

My meetings at work ran over so getting ready to drive to Dixon was a mad rush.  Unfortunately in the mad rush I forgot my Garmin so I have no data for tonight’s time trial. It was a real toasty night at Putah Creek (97 degrees) and both Sandra and myself decided to do a warm up using a regular helmet. The wind felt just about the same as two weeks ago which meant there was a crosswind for most of the course.  I felt good on my course pre-ride but it was really hot and I didn’t relish having to put my aero helmet on for the race itself.

I set off a little too hard and felt a bit winded at the mile 1 marker but fortunately I managed to recover just as I passed my wife who set off 30 seconds before me.  I caught my minute rider by mile 2 and then neither caught anyone or was caught  for the remaining miles.  The 90 degree turn at approx 3.5 miles was a bit tricky due to gravel and I took it pretty easy.  I felt pretty good for the event although the last two miles were nasty as usual.

Its hard to say if not having a Garmin impacted my time much as I normally rely on my pulse and speed to help me pace. I certainly didn’t feel  like I could have gone much faster. I ended up with a 22m42s which was 41 seconds faster than PCSD#8. I thought it was a pretty hard night out there and I am still hoping for a good night to get that elusive 21m time which is my 2011 season goal.

The highlight of the evening for me was seeing Greg out there in his Quest Velomobile. He was absolutely flying and despite having to do a Flintstones turn he still beat 20 minutes. I am glad he wasn’t chasing me 🙂

I think Greg beat the course record held by Paul Mach who was 15th in this years USA Pro TT championships (3m06s down on Dave Zabriskie)

Course Record

  • Men’s Record – 19:31 (30.74 mph) by Paul Mach – April 22, 2009
  • Women’s Record – 22.41 (26.45 mph) by Molly Van Houweling – March 25, 2009
  • Team TT Record – 19:55 (30.13 mph) by Stephen Dey, Shawn Rosenthal, Tyler Dibble, Jim Wingert, Zack Kimsey – April 25, 2007

******************************************

District Team Time Trial Championships News:

I was unable to get a team together for this Saturday’s  TTT champs on the Altamont which was very disappointing for me.  I was really looking forward to racing on my local roads.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

