Time Trial Training : Trek TTX

I have been suffering from a cold and chest congestion since the weekend. Not a very bad cold but enough to impact my breathing and make me feel miserable.  I needed to get some practice on the Trek TTX as I hadn’t ridden it since the Warnerville TT and I hoped the hot dry air would finally break my chest congestion. I headed out to the rather nasty North Livermore TT course after work for a hot and windy training session.

I rode at full on time trial speed but immediately got into difficulty with the strong crosswind which buffeted my HED3 front wheel around so much I  had to back off the pace.  The bike was a real handful and I didn’t feel at all comfortable. The handling felt funny and my saddle height felt low. I have obviously been riding my recumbent too much.  My breathing was a bit labored and the TT turned out to be very hard. I was really surprised to see that I actually beat my time last week on the Bacchetta as that felt a lot faster. I felt very rough afterwards and dehydrated but I did feel a lot more comfortable on the TT bike and not as phased out by the monster cross winds.

I have decided not to ride the Trek on tomorrows PCSD and will hold off until next weeks PCSD to finally attack that elusive 27MPH. I have decided to ride the trike tomorrow night providing my lungs are not any worse.

Times :

Strava Ride Report

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

