PCSD #13 TT : Trek TTX

If you were to tell me a year ago that I would be disappointed with a 22m28s on Putah Creek I would have laughed at you. I was really determined to crack into the 21 minutes on tonight’s PCSD and it felt like a pretty good night with cooler temperatures and a not quite as strong wind . The wind was blowing from the left on the way out again and was definitely more into your face over the last 3 miles. I felt really good on the warm up but I didn’t get to pre-ride the course fully as the organizers turned up a lot later than usual.

I set off at a good pace and managed to catch two people on the way out to the turn. I thought 27MPH was within my sights.  I got a bit confused at the turn and sat up about 25m early. There was a guy at 25m warning you about the turn but I thought he was the turn. This probably cost me a handful of seconds and was a little frustrating.  It wasn’t the turn marshals fault it was just my oxygen starved brain unable to process the information in front of me.

I immediately noticed on the way back that the wind was going to be an issue. I reckoned I had to keep up at least 28MPH on the return leg but just didn’t have the legs. I managed to catch another two people before the finish but my time was only 22m28s. This was a disappointing 14 seconds slower than my PCSD best.  I don’t think I could have tried any harder out there tonight. Perhaps I would have gone faster with the rear disk  but you never know.

Pulse Trace shows that I was trying harder than when I did my 22:14 yet my time was slower. The last 3 miles I was pushing to my max.

Speed Trace shows that I lost the most time at the turn and over the last 2.5 miles that were really hard. I dont seem to have the form I had in June and it has been a very long season. Next week I have over a week off the bike on business travel. I hope that this recharges my batteries.

Strava Data

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

