Wheels Of Thunder : Trek 5500

Today was my last chance to ride for over a week as I will be spending the next week in Germany on business. Fortunately it was my clubs annual first of the month Hammerfest so I was assured a good workout.  I rode out to Pleasanton with my wife at a brisk pace but ended up getting a flat from a goats head (these things are terrible this year). I discovered that the glue in my patch kit was dried up so had to put in my one and only spare (Fingers Crossed I didn’t get another puncture).

The ride started off at a much steadier pace than usual but soon picked up on the Tuscany loop. I was feeling good but my legs were a little tired from the last few days efforts. The hotspot section along Greenville was fast as usual and I put in a long lead-out effort near the end for a bit of time trial practice.  One of these days I might go for the sprint myself.

The second hotspot is more to my liking and I usually enjoy the climb up over highland. On North Livermore a small and dangerous group made a break and we had to chase really hard to bring them back. It took us until the rollers to reel them in but that left a big bunch sprint.  I decided to take a lead out role again and put in a long final pull.

This turned out to be another really enjoyable club ride and a great bit of training.

Strava Ride Report

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

