Sunday Morning IC3 and FFBC “Ladies Team Ride”

After yesterdays scorching hot temps it was quite a surprise  to find temperatures hovering around 50 degrees as we gathered for the IC3 Sunday morning thrash.  I opted for leg warmers, thermal arm warmers and a wind vest but forgot to pack long fingered gloves.  It was very dark when we set off at 7am but that gave me a great excuse to try out the new lights from our sponsors “Light and Motion”.  The tiny and lightweight Urban 300 that I fitted to my Lemond Titanium was very impressive indeed.

We has a good group of about 12 riders and the pace was brisk from the start so I soon forgot about being cold. By the time we hit the base of Collier Canyon I was pretty warm. Marcus the very fast junior pretty much set the pace on Collier with me trading pulls with him. I couldn’t resist putting in a few attacks just to stretch my legs but ended up being brought back and only in third place for the sprint at the top.The rest of the ride back into Pleasanton was quick but pretty comfortable.

Strava Ride Report

After a quick coffee and scone at Tully’s I rode across town to join in with my wife’s FFBC ladies team ride which was a nice mellow ride. The temperatures had now started creeping up into the eighties and the weather was absolutely gorgeous. The ride remained very mellow as we had a few beginners but I did stretch my legs a bit on the Del Valle climb and the nasty headwind cross road climb. I was 29 seconds off my personal best for the Del Valle climb. This was a very nice relaxed ride and a good way to wind down the weekend although I bailed out when I got near home.

Strava Ride Report

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

