No, I haven’t stopped posting to my blog……

No, I haven’t stopped posting to my blog…… I just haven’t been riding much.

May has not been a good cycling month for me. A combination of work and sickness has left me about 600 miles down on my usual monthly mileage. I ended up picking up a cold and sinus infection on my trip to Italy which curbed my training for the week before the HPV racing day on the 19th May.  I actually was feeling much better for this event but couldn’t ride due to losing my wallet. I went out for a hard ride on Sunday instead and promptly ended up worse than ever on the Monday with a chest infection added into the mix. This week I have been miserably fighting off a cold that just doesn’t seem to want to shift and my only riding has been a very steady commute to work.   

Unfortunately this rotten May has really put the dampers on what was one of my big personal goals for the year, in the shape of the “Dunlap TT”, where I was really hoping to get a win in my category.  Even if I was to have a miraculous recovery it is unlikely I could knock myself back into race winning form in just over a week. For June I am planning to concentrate on regular bikes and give my recumbents a rest in the hope that I can finally crack my 21 minute nemesis on Putah Creek.

Lungs permitting here are my planned events for the next month:

  •         May 26th :  Beat The Clock 10 TT: Felt TK3 Fixed Gear.
  •         May 30th: Putah Creek 40K: Trek TTX TT Bike.
  •         June 3rd: Dunlap TT: Trek TTX TT Bike.
  •         June 6th: Putah Creek 10 TT. Trek TTX TT Bike.
  •         June 13th: Putah Creek 10 TT. Trek TTX TT Bike.
  •         June 27th: Putah Creek 10 TT. Trek TTX TT Bike.

My next big goal is the Caleveras TT on July 28th.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

