PCSD#8: Trek TTX

It was another hot event at Putah Creek with a significant wind that seemed to pick up as the evening progressed.  My Garmin reckoned it was 91 degrees at the start and I believe that.   The wind felt like it was from the SSW which made the outward leg tougher than the return.

I felt pretty good in the warm up but as I was waiting to start I could feel that the wind was getting stronger.  I had a pretty good pace for the first mile but as the course steered slightly to the South I really struggled to keep my speed. Fortunately the resurfaced road wasn’t an issue this week and it didn’t really feel much slower than the rest of the course.  I caught two riders on the outward leg but it was tough and my turn time was a rather slow 11m46s.

I caught two more riders after the turn and then set about trying to get my average speed up. It was definitely quicker on the way back but you never felt like you actually had any sort of tailwind.  With two miles to go I tried to dig really deep to get to 30MPH but I just didn’t have it in me.  Over the last two miles you could really feel the cross wind and I had to fight really hard. The return leg took me 10m46s which was 1 minute quicker than the way out.

I was very disappointed to come in with a time of 22m32s which meant that I had only improved a few seconds from last week when we had the horrendous roads.  I certainly didn’t feel like I was off form but I was hoping that with my 22m06s a few weeks back I was finally going to break the 22 minute barrier this week. Perhaps if I hadn’t  spent the last two weeks chasing Strava KOM’s on my mountain bike instead of doing any proper TT training things would have been different :+)

Results:

  • Time : 22m32s (26.63MPH)
  • Result: 8/55
  • Winner:  Max Jenkins:  20m57s (28.64MPH)

Link to official results

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

