BTC 10 Mile TT – Fixed gear Non-Aero

The wonderful Beat The Clock TT series is closing after the next event so I am attempting to cement my place in the records books in the Fixed gear Categories before this chapter draws to a close.  I decided to ride the penultimate event in the Fixed/Single Speed non aero category (no skinsuit, deep dish wheels, aero bars or aero helmets)

Beat The Clock Records

My Felt TK3 in it’s Merckx setup with 48×15 Fixed

The weather was absolutely perfect on the Canada Road Course and the turnout was really good but I was the only one daft enough to be riding fixed. Despite still recovering from a bout of Salmonella Poisoning I felt really good on the way out and managed to hit the turn 2 seconds up on my personal best.  Unfortunately I went off the boil on the return leg and my lack of riding over the last 2 weeks left me with very hollow feeling legs over the climbs on the last 3 miles.  How badly I blew up is well illustrated on the graph below.

Personal Best vs Today’s Effort.

 

Time: 25m25s (course record 24m50 4/25/2013) 35 seconds slower than my best.

I was still really happy with my time and thoroughly enjoyed the event. My stomach felt a bit iffy when I finished but I am glad I entered. It is such a shame that the next event will be the last. I am going to have another attempt at the record on the last event.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

