Marginal Gains

Team Sky are all about marginal gains and they seem to know what they are doing so I put some lighter wheels on the Wabi  for this weekends hill climbs. The lighter wheels dropped 1.5lbs off the bikes weight and it now tips the scales (as pictured) at 19lbs.

Wabi with race day wheels

I finally decided upon 32 x 20 for Montebello and Diablo Hill climbs. I think this gear works well for my current post flu state of fitness.  I managed to break 1h3m on Sunday for Diablo on this gear but I cant imagine being able to find 3 minutes on race day to beat the hour and get a T shirt. I reckon a 32 x18 would be required to beat the hour but I am not strong enough to push that over the last 4 miles. The lighter wheels should gain me around 30 seconds but I am sticking with a 32 x 20.

Swapped out the ugly Bontrager bottle cage for a nice stainless King Cage

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

