Replacement for the Tarmac

The wind blew over my Tarmac and it fell on a bike pump which put a huge chip in the carbon forks.  I had the bike inspected and the prognosis was that it needed new forks.  I contacted Specialized but they were unable to find me a new fork so suggested I should get a new frame. New Tarmac frames are about $3000 so I trolled the internet looking for something else.

I found a nice carbon frame on sale for $1500 off the list price from a pretty respectable German company so took the plunge.

storck

The frame is a bit more aero than the tarmac and has a lovely finish. I built it up using mainly old parts from the Tarmac but was pretty pleased with the finished result.  It rides really nice and the bottom bracket is very stiff.  It doesn’t feel as special as the Tarmac did but it is very smooth. It weighs in about 17.5 pounds which is about 1/2 pound heavier than my tarmac.

storck_002

I do just about all my own bike maintenance but I have to admit the internal cabling scared me so I paid Andy Frey from Beeline bikes to do the gears and rear brake. He did a great job and the bike ran perfect right from the start. I only did a quick 7 mile shakedown ride.  Time to get a proper test ride in.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

