Death of Fatty Lumpkin

When I went to get Fatty out of its summer storage I discovered a serious crack in the non drive side seat stay. I dont remember seeing such a crack when I cleaned it and put it into storage in the spring and the bike was a low 1000 miles. Now I did fall off it at very low speed in the ice over winter but I cant imagine that part of the bike could have come into contact. I am very disapointed in the whole situation. The manufacturers Framed wouldnt do anything as the bike was over 5 years old, I got some quotes for carbon repair and with shipping it was going to be over $500.

Because of the odd sizes of Farbike hubs it is really difficult to find a replacement frame for a cheap price. I also do not want carbon. I honestly have been put of it by my framed experience. I have been looking at some Aluminium and steel fatbikes such as the Kona, Salsa and Surly models. They are all over $2000. I have a carbon 29er but I am really worried about riding this in the snow.

To be honest I cant help thinking a steel single speed would best suit my winter snow and gravel road riding due to its mechanical simplicity. I wish I had kept my Kona Unit 2-9. I am wondering if 2,6 inch tyres running very low pressure tubeless would be ok for the type of snow riding I do, I was an idiot and sold this bike cheap when it was basically like new. These too are a lot more expensive these days but cheaper than a fatbike. I havent managed to find any for sale on craislist.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.